2011 National Wetlands Awards Recipients

Todd Miller

North Carolina Coastal Federation
Newport, North Carolina
Mr. Todd Miller, founder of the North Carolina Coastal Federation (NCCF), has protected the state’s valuable coastal wetlands for three decades.

Janet Morlan

Oregon Department of State Lands
Salem, Oregon
Ms. Janet Morlan, state wetlands program manager for the Oregon Department of State Lands, is a driving force behind many policy improvements and advances that make Oregon’s wetland program a national model.

Scott House

Bearitage Farms
Cherry Valley, Arkansas
Mr. Scott House’s investment of time and capital in northeast Arkansas has created and expanded wetland habitat in the critical Mississippi Flyway.

Loren M. Smith

Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Dr. Loren M. Smith is regarded by his peers as the top authority on playa wetlands and one of the world’s leading scholars on wetland ecosystem science.

Margaret H. Sedlecky

Baldwin County Board of Education
Fairhope, Alabama
Ms. Margaret Sedlecky, 25-year veteran teacher of the Baldwin County Public Schools in Alabama, instills the environmental value of wetlands in the minds of students, teachers, and the public.

Rio de la Vista

Rio Grande Headwaters Land Trust
Del Norte, Colorado
Ms. Rio de la Vista’s trustworthy reputation, enthusiasm, and vision brings private landowners, conservation organizations, and government agencies together through creative partnerships that have protected over 27,000 acres of wetlands.